Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos - Thumb

Greece - Around Athens - Alimos - POI: Cine Alimos.

By Publish7 | Travel in Greece | 7 Jul 2020


Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos

Cine Alimos is a breathtaking, open air, summer cinema directly located next to the sea. Amazing location! The event is an initiative of the municipality of Alimos and takes place, each year, throughout the entire summer (June, July, August & September). Because of its great success, they will organize, this year (summer 2020), the 4th edition already!

Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos - Overview

Normally there used to be, on a weekly base, 3 different movies for children and 3 different movies for adults but because of the current COVID-19 regulations there will be, unfortunately, no movies for children at all. That is a pity because I really loved seeing and hearing the children enjoying themselves. All the children movies where by the way offered for FREE. I really hope things will change again by next year (or maybe, if the regulations change, in August already).

Because of this measures the organizers came up with a new concept for this year: Every Friday, at midnight, a special edition will take place where they will screen 'Thriller movies', brrr.

All other movies start somewhere between 21:00 and 21:15 depending on the sunset.

The cinema can host about 300 to 350 spectators (taking into account the special measures this year). The movies are projected on an inflatable movie screen.

Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos - Screen

Coming here in the second week of August (11-14) adds also a special 'romantic dimension' to it as in this period the Perseid meteor shower takes place. Ideal to wish upon the sky with your beloved in your arms.

Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos - Entrance

The entrance price (for the adult movies) is €4. There is a special price of €3 for the inhabitants of Alimos, students and elderly people (+65 years).

The movies that are screened on Mondays are FREE OF ENTRANCE!

At the back of the cinema there is a small canteen where you can buy some drinks and/or snacks, at reasonable prices. (It is also allowed though to bring your own drinks and snacks).

As of the uncertain times that we are living in right now (COVID-19), the organizers decided that they will release the programming of the movies month by month so for the moment I can provide you only the program for month of July. As soon as the program for August (and September) is released, I will come back here and update this article.

The easiest way to come here is by taking the tram line from the Syntagma square (the main square of Athens) towards 'Voula' (Βούλα). The station is called Kalamaki (Καλαμακί). Taking this line will lead you here in about 40 minutes.

Around Athens - Alimos - POI - Cine Alimos - Tram

JULY 2020

Wednesday 1 July: 21.15: Les Misérables (Οι Άθλιοι).
Thursday 2 July: 21.15: Les Misérables (Οι Άθλιοι).
Friday 3 July: 21.15: Borg vs. McEnroe (Όλα για τη Δόξα).
00.00: Happy Death Day (Γενέθλια Θανάτου).
Saturday 4 July: 21.15: Borg vs. McEnroe (Όλα για τη Δόξα).
Sunday 5 July: 21.15: Borg vs. McEnroe (Όλα για τη Δόξα).

Monday 6 July: 21.15: Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang (Η Νάνι ΜακΦι και ο Μεγάλος Σαματάς).
Tuesday 7 July: 21.15: Sorry We Missed You (Δυστυχώς Απουσιάζατε).
Wednesday 8 July: 21.15: Sorry We Missed You (Δυστυχώς Απουσιάζατε).
Thursday 9 July: 21.15: Sorry We Missed You (Δυστυχώς Απουσιάζατε).
Friday 10 July: 21.15: Remi Sans Famille (Χωρίς οικογένεια).
00.00: Happy Death Day 2 (Γενέθλια Θανάτου 2).
Saturday 11 July: 21.15: Remi Sans Famille (Χωρίς οικογένεια).
Sunday 12 July: 21.15: Remi Sans Famille (Χωρίς οικογένεια).

Monday 13 July: 21.15: NO MOVIE.
Tuesday 14 July: 21.15: BlacKkKlansman (Η Παρείσφρηση).
Wednesday 15 July: 21.15: BlacKkKlansman (Η Παρείσφρηση).
Thursday 16 July: 21.15: BlacKkKlansman (Η Παρείσφρηση).
Friday 17 July: 21.15: Apostratos (Απόστρατος).
00.00: Ηalloween (Η Νύχτα με τις Μάσκες).
Saturday 18 July: 21.15: Apostratos (Απόστρατος).
Sunday 19 July: 21.15: Apostratos (Απόστρατος).

Monday 20 July: 21.15: Johnny English Strikes Again (O Johnny English ξαναχτυπά).
Tuesday 21 July: 21.15: Corpus Christi (Κόρπους Κρίστι).
Wednesday 22 July: 21.15: Corpus Christi (Κόρπους Κρίστι).
Thursday 23 July: 21.15: Corpus Christi (Κόρπους Κρίστι).
Friday 24 July: 21.15: My Masterpiece (Το Αριστούργημά μου).
00:00: The Mummy (Η Μούμια).
Saturday 25 July: 21.15: My Masterpiece (Το Αριστούργημά μου).
Sunday 26 July: 21.15: My Masterpiece (Το Αριστούργημά μου).

Monday 27 July: 21.15: Fantasia (Φαντασία).
Tuesday 28 July: 21.15: Beanpole (Ένα Ψηλό Κορίτσι).
Wednesday 29 July: 21.15: Beanpole (Ένα Ψηλό Κορίτσι).
Thursday 30 July: 21.15: Beanpole (Ένα Ψηλό Κορίτσι).
Friday 31 July: 21.15: And then We Danced (Και Μετά Χορέψαμε).
00.00: The Dead Don't Die (Οι Νεκροί δεν Πεθαίνουν).

QUICK DETAILS:

LOCATION  : 37°54'36.8"N+23°42'35.0"E (37.9102331 23.7091684).
TYPE            : MOVIES.
FACILITIES :

  • MOVIES START AT 21:15.

  • FRIDAYS, AT MIDNIGHT = THRILLER EDITION.

  • ENTRANCE €4. SPECIAL PRICE €3 (SEE ABOVE). MONDAYS ARE FREE.

  • ACCESSIBLE BY CAR, TRAM & BICYCLE.

  • CANTEEN WITH DRINKS AND SNACKS ON THE PREMISES.

How do you rate this article?


2

0

Publish7
Publish7

I am 42 years old and I am living in Athens, Greece. I studied I.C.T. and Electronics but that doesn't take away that I have a general interest in a wide range of topics. Be it technology, music, movie, travelling, cooking, ...


Travel in Greece
Travel in Greece

A guide for tourists to travel in Greece

Send a $0.01 microtip in crypto to the author, and earn yourself as you read!

20% to author / 80% to me.
We pay the tips from our rewards pool.