Kirchenmusik im melopoetischen Stil: I. Jesu, dulcis memoria [Philip Daniel; 2016, revised 2020]

Kirchenmusik im melopoetischen Stil: I. Jesu, dulcis memoria [Philip Daniel; 2016, revised 2020]

By PhilipDaniel | Musica Melopoetica | 27 Oct 2020



I. "Jesu dulcis memoria ..." 0:00

II. "Jesu, spes paenitentibus ..." 2:51

III. "Sis, Jesu, nostrum gaudium ..." 5:12



First of a pair of sacred vocal works, originally composed in 2016 and revised in 2020. A setting of verses 1, 3, and 5 of the text "Jesu, dulcis memoria", the authorship of which hagiographers typically assign to Saint Bernard of Clairvaux. The first section, setting the first verse of the text, opens with a warmly, richly voiced sequence for four violoncelli, leading into a tranquil arioso for alto with accompaniment by the violoncelli. The second verse begins with a searching fugue on the harmonium; violoncelli soloists double the alto's lyrical line, building in tension to a luminous denouement. The final section brings together alto, harmonium, and violoncello quartet, employing the chorale tune "Laß, o Herr, dein Ohr sich neigen" as its basis. Note the unusual tonal scheme juxtaposing very distantly related tonal centers -- the first movement ending on a G♯ major triad, the second on an A major triad, the third on a G major triad -- approximating in musical terms a Cross.


You will find below a reproduction of the Latin text which I have set:




Latin Text:  
[1] Jesu dulcis memoria
dans vera cordis gaudia:
sed super mel et omnia
ejus dulcis praesentia.
[3] Jesu, spes paenitentibus,
quam pius es petentibus!
quam bonus te quaerentibus!
sed quid invenientibus?
[5] Sis, Jesu, nostrum gaudium,
qui es futurus praemium:
sit nostra in te gloria,
per cuncta semper saecula.
Edward Caswall Translation:
[1] Jesus, the very thought of Thee
With sweetness fills the breast!
Yet sweeter far Thy face to see
And in Thy Presence rest.
[3] O hope of every contrite heart!
O joy of all the meek!
To those who fall, how kind Thou art!
How good to those who seek!
[5] Jesus! our only hope be Thou,
As Thou our prize shalt be;
In Thee be all our glory now,
And through eternity. Amen.




Feel free to peruse through the full engraved "conductor's score":


0da6df97db8ea56285c408ac717a57dbee977241af4a2206a8fe6abf46f03489.png ab6c0b54bfd4666b82cc9b7aec00074aa479f9c9032e8502acced77c9ba0516b.png f68841ef2862a355932369daa220c6183540a61815bc75a99c1a97b73583eda1.png 980646292889c8dc6fb8e3fc0f750185cf7ac9a64053b0f2180d829295ae33a9.png 1e07606fcb58501c2d6bb99481d03aa23fe10ee93e515a285bd513f64be7e49d.png f9e521e9f38f3f764c13090d09970181dc7a14af70eabb57a5f585534735b0d4.png b6fb6c7ce10714402a9a60f20cdf1b076bd640ca10348c140d4e351b40e4ea8c.png 816b530357977cbb3eda240687cc0294c1c4f929601f47bfb300c5ee2def93ee.png d3e06e99e1d40e9bd5795ed5e58f2427c1e40cc3243b97d2985d5546002f7766.png a5f8b4c73e120bbf76a92909ec104d148b29fad732201b551a50aa3d21968373.png ccb409af5dc48fc50cf4e84807c11b927a7b6c6e2913265d8457824d7eaf5b82.png e1826cd2d0e682b129527c6a85d35834f181b2ad67acac30eec3a811b97a4a66.png  




The painting in the video is "The Repentant Magdalen" by El Greco.



If you enjoyed this, please consider becoming a patron at or

How do you rate this article?




I am a young composer working in a highly personal Late Romantic idiom.

Musica Melopoetica
Musica Melopoetica

Music theory and composition, music history, (ethno)musicology, aesthetic philosophy, and much much more, presented in a readily accessible manner.

Send a $0.01 microtip in crypto to the author, and earn yourself as you read!

20% to author / 80% to me.
We pay the tips from our rewards pool.